Club History

The Hobart Probus Club (Men’s) Club was the third Probus club to be formed in Tasmania with Moonah (Mens) in December 1981 and Launceston (Mens) in August 1982 preceding Hobart which came into being on Tuesday 5th.October 1982.

At a meeting held at the Naval and Military Club in Hobart on the 5th October 1982 chaired by Les Thirgood,and sponsored by the Rotary clubs of Hobart, Sandy Bay, Hobart Town and North Hobart, Fred Peacock of the Rotary Club of Hobart moved “that this meeting determine a Club be formed and called the Probus Club of Hobart”. The motion was seconded by Mark Ashton and carried and the Probus Club was formed. An interim committee was elected with Les Thirgood the first President and Max Lyall his deputy, John Lennox, secretary and Sam Webb, treasurer.

From left to right: Sam Webb, Max Lyall, Les Thirgood & John Lennox

The election of further committee members was deferred until the next meeting. lt had obviously been a well attended meeting as 53 members were signed up on the spot. As decided at the inaugural meeting, the November general meeting appointed the following members to complete the committee; Fred Peacock (Membership), Jim Barker (Bulletin), Errol Lane (Programs), Max Windsor (Visits and Entertainment), John Wardrop (Probus Extension), Alan Rowell (Community Service), Arnold Jenner and Dougal McDougall (Auditors).


Les Thirgood *1982Sam Webb*1983Ray Wilson*1984
Max Lyall*1985Bill Edwards *1986Bill Oates OBE *1987
Max Windsor *1988Lionel Lewis *1989Ted Pool *1990
Bert Washusen *
Bert Morgan *
1991Terry White *1992Jim Lawler *1993
Rob Irvine1994Owen Carrick *1995Norm Potter *1996
Alan Mckenzie *1997Alan Austin *1998Colin Burrows *1999
Jim Wishart OAM *2000Ian Lewis AO2001David Gill *2002
Bill Carrick *2003Bob Brewster2004David Brammall2005
Terry Bowes2006Ron Martin2007Athol Wilkes *2008
Bruce Price2009Bill Rodd2010Geoff Medhurst2011
Darrell Talbot *2012Ted Best2013Robin Holmes2014
Bernard Knight2015Brian Butler2016Carl Lawton2017
Hamish Kyle2018Neil Blaikie2019Mike Walpole2020
Graham Standen2021Michael Graham2022Rob Brand2023


Les Thirgood *Max Lyall *Bert Morgan *ill Oates OAM *Max Windsor *
Frank Williams *Owen Carrick *David Gill *Norm Potter *Rob Irvine *
Jim Wishart OAM *Lionel Lewis *Ian Lewis AO * Athol Wilkes *David Brammall
John Brodribb

* Deceased

More Information